My Cart

Click title to display cart contents.
0 Items CHF 0.00

Museums to Visit

Museums to Visit

If you like delving into history, there are a variety of interesting museums on Jamaica. These museums and historical sites tell the story of the island’s political, military, economic, social and cultural history.  Here is a short guide to some museums and historical sites worth visiting.

Pre-colonial and Early Colonial History
-    Taino Museum of the first Jamaican, Kingston
https://instituteofjamaica.org.jm/
-    Fort Charles, Port Royal http://www.jnht.com/site_fort_charles.php
-    The Hanover Museum http://museums-ioj.org.jm/?p=573
-    The National Institute of Jamaica, Kingston https://instituteofjamaica.org.jm/
-    Montego Bay Museum at Sam Sharpe Square  http://www.world-guides.com/latin-america/jamaica/st-james-cornwall/montego-bay/montego_bay_museums.html

-   Columbus Park museum, Discovery Bay   https://historygreatest.com/columbus-park-jamaica
-    Fort Haldane in St. Mary   http://www.jnht.com/site_fort_haldane.php
-    Fort George in Port Antonio http://www.jnht.com/site_fort_george.php

 

Modern History
-    Liberty Hall -The legacy of Marcus Garvey, Kingston 
 http://www.jnht.com/site_liberty_hall.php
-    National Institute of Jamaica https://instituteofjamaica.org.jm/
-    Seaford Town in Westmoreland http://www.jamaicatravelandculture.com/destinations/westmoreland/seaford-town.htm
-    The Peoples Museum of Craft and Technology in Spanish Town http://museums-ioj.org.jm/?p=2249
-    Bustamante Museum, Kingston https://www.facebook.com/Bustamante-Museum-122743997794923/
-    National Heroes park, Kingston
-    Bank of Jamaica Currency Museum, Kingston
http://boj.org.jm/currency/currency_museum.php

 

Music
-    Bob Marley Museum, Kingston
http://www.bobmarleymuseum.com/
-    Peter Tosh museum, Kingston  http://petertosh.com/museum/
-    Trench Town Culture Yard, Kingston   https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4UF3qODUlhU
-    National Museum of Jamaica http://museums-ioj.org.jm/

 

Natural History
-    Institute of Jamaica Natural History Museum, Kingston 
 https://instituteofjamaica.org.jm/
-    Hope Botanical Gardens, Kingston http://www.visitjamaica.com/hope-botanical-gardens

 

 Culture and Lifestyle
-    Devon House, Kingston
 https://www.devonhouseja.com/
-    Greenwood Great House, Montego Bay  http://www.greenwoodgreathouse.com/
-    Rose Hall Great House, St. James https://rosehall.com/
-    Noel Coward’s Firefly House, Portland  http://www.firefly-jamaica.com/
-    Bellfield Great House and Garden, Montego Bay http://www.world-guides.com/latin-america/jamaica/st-james-cornwall/montego-bay/montego_bay_museums.html
-    Halse Hall Great House, Clarendon http://www.jnht.com/site_halse_hall_great_house.php

Art History
-    National Gallery of Jamaica, Kingston
 http://natgalja.org.jm/
-    Harmony Hall Art Museum, Ocho Rios   http://www.harmonyhall.com/Gallery/gallery.htm

 

January 2018